

SCRUTINY COMMISSION FOR RURAL COMMUNITIES

MONDAY 27 JULY 2009 7.00 PM

Bourges/Viersen Room - Town Hall

AGENDA

		Page No
1.	Apologies for Absence	
2.	Declaration of Interest	
	At this point Members must declare whether they have an interest, whether personal or prejudicial, in any of the items on the agenda. Members must also declare if they are subject to their party group whip in relation to any items under consideration.	
OPERATIONAL ITEMS		
3.	A Rural Definition	1 - 6
	Determine what is meant by 'Rural Communities' to ensure scrutiny function is focused correctly.	
4.	Fix it Van	7 - 12
	To provide members an opportunity to scrutinise the provision and use of the Fix it Van in rural communities.	
5 .	Langdyke Trust	13 - 20
	To provide members the opportunity to scrutinise the establishment of the Langdyke Trust and to discuss the establishment of other land trusts.	
STRATEGIC ITEMS		
6.	Rural Economy	21 - 22
	To provide members an opportunity to scrutinise the work done by Opportunity Peterborough towards strengthening and developing the rural economy of Peterborough	
7.	Forward Plan of Key Decisions	23 - 36
8.	Work Program	37 - 38

9. Date of the next Meeting

5 October 2009, 7.00 p.m.



There is an induction hearing loop system available in all meeting rooms. Some of the systems are infra-red operated, if you wish to use this system then please contact Alex Daynes on 01733 452447 as soon as possible.

Emergency Evacuation Procedure - Outside Normal Office Hours

In the event of the fire alarm sounding all persons should vacate the building by way of the nearest escape route and proceed directly to the assembly point in front of the Cathedral. The duty Beadle will assume overall control during any evacuation, however in the unlikely event the Beadle is unavailable, this responsibility will be assumed by the Committee Chair.

Committee Members:

Councillors: D Over (Chairman), G Nawaz (Vice-Chairman), M Collins, R Dobbs, D Harrington, B Rush and W Trueman

Substitutes: Councillors: L Gilbert, J A Fox and D Fower

Further information about this meeting can be obtained from Alex Daynes on telephone 01733 452447 or by email – alexander.daynes@peteborough.gov.uk